You thought you would never take a photo of this

Nhi

The second topic for our photography challenge is:

You thought you would never take a photo of this.

My blog buddy told me that this topic seemed difficult, since there was nothing she completely thought she would never take a photo of. However, a challenge is a challenge. So here is her picture:

10589510_824602547550840_963500862_n

For a long time, she has been admiring rock culture and the way performers dedicate themselves to singing live for the audience. However, she only has a limited knowledge about this culture thanks to reading a Japanese manga called “Beck”. This photo was taken during a performance of the group IC/TC  at Gentse feesten, a local festival. IC/TC is a Belgian band who does covers of the famous AC/DC.

This is my photo:

2014-08-01 03.38.45 1

I had a hard time deciding whether I would post my photo on the blog, because I thought I “would never take a photo of this”. Like you can see, my hands are wrinkled, rough and not pretty. The fingers are short, chubby. When I was a kid, everyone commented on how ugly my fingers looked and I still remembered that until now. On the other hand, now I have grown up, I really do appreciate these fingers no matter how “ugly” they may look to another person.

8 thoughts on “You thought you would never take a photo of this

  1. A wonderful photo challenge. As soon as I saw the phrase, I thought of William Eggleston, who is best known for his role in advancing the idea that color photography could be art but whose subjects were things that few would photograph then or now: discarded air-conditioners, vending machines, empty and dirty Coca-Cola bottles, torn posters, power poles and power wires, street barricades, one-way signs, detour signs, and more.

    Like

    1. Thanks Robin! We are very excited about our upcoming challenges, because the topics matter to us so much. And thanks to your comment and a little help from Google, I was also introduced to the wonderful photographs by Eggleston just now. I am really taken aback by the beauty of these simple little things he portrayed, and I am also reminded of my friend’s essay about “Banal Happiness” 😀

      Like

Let us know what you think!

