A dollar

By Nhi

If I gave you a dollar, would you smile? You probably wouldn’t.

But when I gave a half-finished bag of chips that costs a dollar to this man who was shivering in a corner of the subway station, he smiled so radiantly that his face brightened.

“What’s wrong? What’s happened?” I asked.

Words didn’t come out of his mouth, so I assumed that something was wrong. Maybe, he couldn’t speak. Maybe he didn’t want to speak. Then I steered my eyes to the direction of his carelessly cut sign. No home, no jobs, no family. The little white dog he was holding in hand turned out to be blind. The cat beside him was deaf. This homeless man was trying to survive day by day and protect his little companions. No abandon.

If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.

J.K.Rowling

Suddenly, he raised his sparkling eyes and looked at me.

“Bless you. I really, really appreciate this,” he said, slowly putting the bag of chips into his ravaged bag.

God bless you, wherever you are. I have witnessed this scene too much in NYC to feel emotional each time. But tonight, my heart comes out to you because you are holding on to your little friends even when your stomach is empty.

Let us know what you think!

