Movie Night with Family: Miss Granny

Nhi

The coffee’s lingering smell permeated the air. In the living room, two Swiss roll cakes were put on the table, waiting to be nibbled by the insecure sister (me, who is paranoid with the prospect of finishing the cake before even tasting it) and devoured by the overenthusiastic brother who was trying too hard to prevent me from snatching the chocolate roll cake away from him.

It was 9 P.M.

Sipping a gulp of coffee, I crossed my legs on the sofa and wrapped a blanket around my body. Not able to concentrate on what I was reading, I looked at my brother who was chuckling at a Mighty Med scene on Disney Channel and rolled my eyes.

“Will you pay attention to what you are eating? Bits of cake are falling everywhere!” I shouted.

“Where? I don’t see any,” he answered. But seeing my glaring look, he continued: “Okay, okay. Anyway, what movie are we gonna watch again?”

“Well, we will watch this Korean movie called ‘Miss Granny’. I heard that it is very good and funny. Lasting for about two hours,” I said the last part as fast as possible, knowing that my brother didn’t like to sit watching a movie for too long.

“But we will wait for Mom to finish showering, then we can all watch together,” I continued.

“Alright, alright,” he answered, seeming patient.

We didn’t do movie night frequently. Sometimes, I was busy with the life I found difficult to balance, so I would not stay at home a lot during weekends. My brother would lose himself in the world of video games, because well, weekends mean no homework.

But today, I was enjoying life with a “reddish-zone” manner. Yes, “reddish zone” is a term I coined to describe the peaceful time (meaning time without any assignments) in school that happens right before midterms and finals. And I discovered an appropriate Asian movie that could entertain people of different ages.

Miss Granny is a 2014 South Korean comedic movie that teaches family values and offers a glimpse at the relationships between elders and youths, motherhood, a little about friendship and the pursuit of dreams for young people. It tells the story of how a woman (Oh Mal-soon) in her last phase of life magically becomes young again. While her contemporaries withered away, she (who changes her name to Oh Doo-ri) has a chance to relive and remake the life she devoted to raising her son as a single mom. She becomes friends with her grandson, shows the world her beautiful voice and finds her heart fluttered by another man.

Oh Mal-Soon and her younger version, Oh Doo-ri

Shim Eun Kyung is the young actress (born in 1994) with the role of Miss Granny. She laughs and she makes viewers laugh. She cries and tears are welling up in viewers’ eyes. She sings and her songs evoke memories of a lifetime from the audience.

Shim Eun Kyung in a funny scene. I personally enjoy her lively performance a lot.

It is a light-hearted movie, showcasing to viewers the traditional family values that Korean cultures think highly of. It slightly reminds us young people of a time (not too long ago) when war devastated families’ happiness (when young men went to war, never came back and left wives as single moms). It calls on youths to treat elders with more respect and sympathy because they were born and raised in a different era. And finally, it haunts us with a future of senility that is bound to happen, but in the end, if we have lived well and true to our hearts, we really don’t need to live another life.

Of course, it is a matter of perspective when it comes to deciding who will like and dislike the movie. But if you are interested in Korean culture, there is a high chance that you will enjoy this movie.

5 thoughts on “Movie Night with Family: Miss Granny

  1. OK, the movie sounds great and I was smitten by the song. But the movie is hard to find. Netflix doesn’t have it, and Amazon wants $53. So it’s on my “Save” list at Netflix and hopefully it will become available. Thanks for the lead.

    Like

    1. Oh maybe it is because the movie is out in Korea in just January 2014. Hopefully they will have it on Netflix or Amazon Prime soon. I am able to watch it because we have the DVD. But thank you so much for reading and I am glad you like the song!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for the reply. You are probably right. I’ll just have to be patient. Meanwhile, Netflix sent me “Night Train to Lisbon” this weekend so at least I had something pretty good to watch. And whenever “Miss Granny” shows up in the mailbox, I’ll think back to your post.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks so much! And thanks to your friend. It’s right there in the Streaming section, not available yet on DVD. But no problem, it’s all set to play and I’ll watch tonight or tomorrow. Thanks for the tip.

    Liked by 1 person

Let us know what you think!

