Should People Be Friendly To Each Other?

By Nhi

This is a very short post. I will just have one question for everyone. I really crave for your feedback because what I am experiencing in college bothers me. A lot.

Should people be friendly to each other? 

Just pure friendly. Not because “I want to network with you”. Not because “I want to appear as a friendly person”. And certainly not because “I want you to do me a favor” (Yuck). In my definition, being friendly means:

– Not shot a cold look at someone you obviously know and even talk to before.

– When you accidentally meet someone’s eyes, smile at them, even when they are strangers.

– When you sit next to someone, in an event or a classroom for example, at least say Hi and get to know their names.

– When someone breaks the ice by asking you questions that show their genuine interest in getting to know you, you respond. And you also ask them questions like “How about you?” to keep conversations going instead of letting them feel like they are interrogating you.

– You have enough sense to know that there are shy people. And you try to start conversations first with them.

Just simple like that. I want to know if readers think that people should do this to each other. Or do the opposite like how a lot of students at my college are doing.

Thank you for reading!

16 thoughts on “Should People Be Friendly To Each Other?

  1. Yes, absolutely! It puts you in a better mood knowing that you’re doing something to help others. Being kind does wonders, especially if it’s genuine. If you put out this appearance or persona of a kind and genuine person, you’ll attract kind and genuine people. I saw a photo today with the quote, “your vibe attracts your tribe,” which I totally agree with.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your answer (Is your name by any chance Camille?). Your comment makes me more confident in what I am trying to do everyday. “Being kind does wonders” — I love that! But it is tough, considering how lots of people don’t think the same, and I always wonder why people are not friendly to each other.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, that’s my name! 🙂 And I’m glad that it helped. I know a lot of people who feel the same way as me about kindness, so I guess in my situation it’s a bit easier. I think that once you exude kindness and warmth, then you’ll definitely encounter the same kind of people. Let me know how this goes – I love kindness and talking about kindness, so I hope this goes well for you!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes we should, and I do try to be as friendly as I can to strangers. However, not everyone are friendly back. But it the goodness you put out into the world, so that what I do. Say hello, hold a door open, talk to people sitting next to me (in a very close vicinity) if i can hear their conversation and it is something i can contribute to. We should always strive for that.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you very much for your comment. I love how you point out small gestures that extend our friendliness to strangers, like holding a door open or saying hello. And this definitely makes me want to be kinder tomorrow and not feel unappreciated when I am trying to be myself. Thank you!

      Like

  3. Hi Nhi. I totally agree with your definition of being friendly. There should be no motive behind being good to people other than being genuinely good to them. This world would be a happier place if more people understood that it doesn’t take anything from you if you smiled at someone or struck a conversation with a stranger randomly and made them feel like they’re interesting enough to talk to, but instead it will leave you with a kind of positivity all day, which otherwise wouldn’t be possible if you just kept to yourself. In my opinion, being good to people makes every single day a hundred times more beautiful and worth living.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Srishti! Thank you very much for your comment. It stuck out to me how you said “this world would be a happier place”. I have never thought about friendliness in such big thought. But it is true. At least, from my point of view, going to school or a new environment and seeing everyone friendly to me will make me adore life a lot lot more. I always feel positive after talking to someone and they respond to me, having the same genuine interest. Thank you so much. After reading all these, I am just — happy.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m a big believer in being friendly. Now the fact that I am somewhat introverted means that I don’t always appear friendly because I am more focused on my own thoughts than on what is happening around me, but still I try to be both friendly and kind. It just makes the world a nicer place.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comment. I also have a period when I find it very hard to be friendly with people. And the fact that I am somewhat an introvert makes it even harder for me now to reach out, say Hi, ask someone something. But this doesn’t mean that introverts are “responsible” for unfriendliness. Actually, introverts should be experts in understanding how important a conversation is. Because I wasn’t naturally sociable, I experience how tough it is to not able to talk, and try my best to get over the barrier everyday.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I think a lot of it has to do with culture. I went to college at Texas A&M University. Part of the college culture there was to say “Howdy!” to everyone. I could walk across campus in 15 minutes and have a thousand people say Howdy! to me. That culture caught on, and even here in San Diego now, 42 years later, if I’m walking down the street, I say Howdy! to everyone I meet. Sometimes it catches them off guard but it’s always fun and makes me feel good.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow. I actually was looking for someone who would mention college culture. My friend tells me how her college is similar to me, but another college she visits is very different. Everyone is friendly and makes her feel belonged. In high school, we often said Hi or called each other in the hallway, so college is little bit different for me. I wonder how many freshmen are influenced by upperclassmen who were already influenced by this culture, because I am pretty sure they come from different high schools. And would college culture have anything to do with the school’s level of academic?

      Thank you so much for your comment. It is so helpful to me.

      Like

Let us know what you think!

