Plants, plans, too early and too late

  • Just one week before the beginning of the winter vacation, Graphic Design students at School of Arts (Ghent) were surprised to see a team of big macho tough guys in black uniform entering their beloved studios, carrying… plants. Yes! Someone (thank you, our dear Someone) in the school’s administration has finally realised how inspirational it is for design students to have living organisms in their studios! Even though our school used to be a former hospital dating from the 17th century, the design studios are in a new building. Contrary to the long-lived beauty of the old buildings, the new one can be defined as modern, clean, almost sterile, wearing fifty shades of grey and having walls in glass. The advantage of this architecture is that students can work in their studios while enjoying, thanks to the glass walls, the satisfying view of the school’s charming garden. The disadvantage is, of course, that this extravagant life style is only possible when the sun is not so high that we’d see nothing on our laptops’ screens except sun glare.

imag1300

But NOW!! Thanks to these plants, we have passed from being zombies to becoming a little more design-student like!

imag1321

Knowing that the plants and this little cactus will be there through out the exam period, it fills me with determination.

imag1318

Hi Miss Cactus!

  • I am going to Paris for a few days to celebrate my long awaited winter vacation. Never have I ever lodged in a studio far away from home WITHOUT MY PARENTS! There seems to have no end to the preparations; and I’m so afraid to miss the international train that I have resolved to arrive at the train station one hour in advance! It’s also the first time that I will be traveling with my boyfriend. Should I bring an extra toothbrush and some shampoo for him? That surely can’t be a bad idea.
  • Last but not least, MERRY CHRISTMAS TO YOU ALL!!! I’ve probably said this one day too soon, but I won’t be online tomorrow, and it’s better to say it too soon than not to say it at all. Enjoy this time of the year wherever you are. Just because we can. Duh.imag1350

Well, okay, I have to admit: Christmas is not really a tradition in my native country. But hey, any event is a good excuse for creatives to make some illustrations!

This little postcard of mine is available for sale at

http://www.redbubble.com/people/linhdingdong/works/24504165-all-i-want-for-christmas?p=greeting-card&card_size=postcard

and also in a range of merchandise.

This is probably too late because postcards must have been sent daaayyyys before Christmas to show the receivers how enthusiastic you are about writing and fixing postage stamps! But hey, late is better than never at all 🙂

Dear Nhi, my co-blogger, I will send this postcard to you to show how dear a friend you are to me; but I will wait until you’re back in New York, because mailing to Vietnam is such a big hassle. So please excuse me if Christmas arrives in your letter box in February.

_Cu_

Let us know what you think!

